NerdsAreCool

My name is Gary. I am a university student at St. Francis Xavier University (Bachelor of Education), Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada. I love school (strange I know). I love everything about it. I went to Mount Saint Vincent University for four years were I completed my Bachelor of Arts (Anthropology/Sociology/History Major). Even though I am a teacher, do not expect proper usage of the english language in this blog.ahah I will save that for the classroom 🙂

So why did I start this blog? Well…

I recently started this blog for two reasons

  1. A place to express my inner feelings about people (LOLOL) (Joking)
  2. Share what’s awesome about life
  3. Display my (old) love (Art=ThaColorGray)

So before you start calling me names, I will help you do so (You thinking in to yourself…”This guy is a nerd“)

What is the definition of a nerd? A foolish or contemptible person who lacks social skills or is boringly studious: “one of those nerds who never asked a girl to dance”. Everyone remembers this kid in elementary, junior/senior high school. So if  you want to relive your past, and begin to call someone a nerd again, here is your chance;-)

While attending University I slowly became a nerd (like most university students). I played basketball for 3 years but that did not seem to change anyones opinion. Over the course of my life I’ve started to embrace the term “nerd” and “weird”. In fact I love being called both. I could not count the number of times a friend (guys and GIRLS) have said this to me. I say, well, why would I want to be like anyone else? Why wake up and ask yourself, what can I do to be like John this morning? Or what can I do to be like Michelle? How about waking up and asking yourself, what can I do to be like me? What can I do to stand out from everyone else? Like Bill Gates said:

Be nice to nerds, chances are you’ll be working for them some day.

Here are 5 reasons why you want to be a nerd:

  1. Nerds are cool (Nerds are leaders, not followers)
  2. Nerds are smart (Nerds stay up late to finish a sentence that is only 2 lines long)
  3. Nerds usually make a decent income (Nerds make $$$$$$)
  4. Nerd social life  (Everyone needs a smart kid in the group)
  5. Nerd Opinion (Educated opinions count!)

List of fellow nerds:

Shaquille O’Neal (Magic, Lakers, Heat, Suns, Cavaliers, Celtics) earned a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from the University of Phoenix in 2005. He took courses online and attended classes in L.A. while he was still with the Lakers, admitting that he loved the process and wanted to make sure he was prepared for life after basketball. As if that was ever going to be a problem for him, right?

Bill Gates (Microsoft): Bill gates created his first computer program at the age of 13. With other pupils, he computerized his school’s payroll system and founded a company that sold traffic-data systems to local government. After he dropped out of Harvard, he launched Microsoft with Paul Allen.

Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook) : Need I Say More

Oprah (Talk Show Host): In her early thirties, Winfrey became a millionaire. Today, she is the only African- American billionaire and one of the richest people in the world. Her charity work is never-ending and she has won numerous awards for her philanthropy. She has donated more money and worked for more causes than many of the richest people in the world. She has even been adorned with the Bob Hope Humanitarian Award.

Natalie Portman (Actor): Natalie was a straight A student in high school. Once high school was finished while playing the Queen Amidala in The Phantom Menace, she skipped the premiere to study for her final exams. This is what got her into HARVARD. While in school she worked on numerous committees alongside her professors. She also studied four languages 😉

This is just to name few…

Through this blog you will see who I am as a person, mainly through my art 🙂 (Somehow.ahah)

Last words..

Be you! Be AWESOME !!!

2 thoughts on “NerdsAreCool

  1. GodBrother!!! THIS IS AMAZING! I enjoyed reading every word on this blog and look forward to more art, words and reflecting on my own life and experiences as I depict your art. I LOVE IT!! Keep this going please 🙂 love youuuu! xo.

  2. This is awesome Gary! I got to the end of the blog so soon 😦 Hurry post some new things, I’m excited to see what’s next! 😉

    ~*~Peaches D~*~

Leave a Reply

