ImInKuwait: Week 10

Kuwait: Week 10

Me As Bert..

I keep saying it but it has been crazy how fast the time flies here in Kuwait. We are already on week 10. I am starting to figure out the lifestyle a little bit better. Each person has to try to do what they are most comfortable with. What do I do besides school? Every weekend it seems as though “something” is going on. Parties. Events. Tours. Boat Cruises. BBQ. People always find things to do here. It is entirely up to you to  get involved. I’ve been trying my best to go to what ever I can. Meet new people. And hang out with friends. I am getting a lot better at socializing ahahha

Eid Al-Fitr

What happen this week? This week was short. Why? We went on our first break! Without going into great detail, this is what the break/Holiday is all about:

Eid al-Fitr, which is also called Feast of Break the Fast, The Sweet Festival and the Lesser Eid. It is a holiday celebrated by Muslims around the world. It marks the end of Ramadan. The holy month (Islamic) of fasting. What is fasting you ask? Fasting is restraining yourself from eating and drinking for a period of time. Sometimes it is a retrain from one or the other. Eid is a single day that falls on the first day of the month of Shawwal. Muslims around the world try to show togetherness, and are not permitted to fast that day.

Needless to say, we had a short week in school. Sunday-Wednesday. Wednesday was very interesting. We had a school wide (elementary) morning meeting (see picture). Pizza day (Everyone orders personal pan pizza’s at the end of every month-Of course it is optional for kids, but who doesn’t really?) Halloween celebration (Celebrated Halloween early this year because of the dates that we are in school) With all of that, let’s just say, the kids were a “little excited” Wednesday. All of my students dressed up. And “most” (75%) of my students brought in treats for the class (See Pictures Below). It was a little outrageous ahahha

MorningMeeting

TreatBags (Kind Full Don’t Ya Think)ekkk

The rest of my week was a little uneventful. I did enjoy spending a night with some friends. I was invited to hang out with some friends at their apartment this week, where we talked, ate and had a few beverages. It was nice to sit and chat with teachers ahahah A lot of people went away for the break. It is rather cheap to fly anywhere here. Some teachers take advantage of that which is great. I will definitely be doing so. The rest of my break will consist of lesson planning, reading and sleeping. I’ve been able to catch a few games online (Stfx basketball) which is fun to watch as well. I watched the girls in New Brunswick, and the boys in Antigonish. Mine you the time difference is 6 hours ekkk. I will not tell you the time in which I woke up to watch.lol

ScaryStudent

Confiscated Weapons in Grade 2

Interesting Facts of the week:

– Another crazy taxi experience.

– Found some guys to play hoops with on Tuesdays/Sundays

      – Possibly joining a league

– Will be coaching JV Girls Basketball

-BeAwesome

Leave a Reply

