BeAwesome: #289 Trick

BeAwesome: #289 Trick

Life is pretty simple: You do some stuff. Most fails. Some works. You do more of what works. If it works big, others quickly copy it. Then you do something else. The trick is the doing something else- Leonardo da Vinci

Sometimes you feel as though your motivation or reasoning for something is gone. It packed its bag and left on its very on vacation. Maybe it will come back. Maybe it won’t. But right now it is gone and you are stuck in the middle of something without that extra push or meaning behind what you’re doing. So what do you do to re-focus. What do you do so your day remains productive and useful. Here are 5 important TRICKS to keep the positive vibes flowing. And your motivation running.

WORK IN SHORT BURST:

When I get un-motivated or feel tired. When my energy level is down but my mind is still racing I try to WORK IN SHORT BURST. What do I mean by short burst? Starting with 5-10 minutes, I work and try to concentrate as much as possible on what ever it is I am doing. Take and block everything else out. I sit in my room. Or go to the living room. I create a space that I know I cannot be distracted in and I concentrate for SHORT BURST on the task I have at hand. I know what I want to accomplish for the time being. But after this short burst (5-10 minutes), I get up and take myself away from it. At this time, my mind and body may be so wrapped up in the task that I feel as though I do not need to get up, but I still take myself away. Read a page in a book I like. Go for a short walk to the kitchen. Browse my favorite Internet website. After being away (2minutes max) you go back at it again. And repeat the cycle until your short burst are long burst, and back to complete focus on the task. This is one of my favorite tricks to help me remain focused when distracted or unmotivated.

YOUR REASON:

Sometimes I forget why I do things. Or why I ask my self to stay focused on something. Again, I get distracted. Not so often confused or misguided, just tired. Mentally. And often go back and ask myself. What is YOUR REASON for doing all of this anyways. Why is it that you continue to put yourself through this. Why do you do what you do. After I sit down and ask myself these questions. (Which I do very often, to keep myself guided and focused) I find that energy and focus back that I had in the very beginning. My reason to write or teach. Will be different then your reason to run a lap in the gym or draw a portrait or a painting. Everyone has a reason for what they do. The key to YOUR REASON is, does it connect to something you care about. Do you believe if you stop (for what ever reason) it will affect you personally or something next or close to you. If YOUR REASON is not strong enough to influence your decision on whether or not you want to work hard, you probably need to sit back and think of another reason for what you are doing..

ReadMe

ReadMe

GRAB A SNACK

One of my favorite tricks to increase my motivation is a snack. Now I am not a healthy guru nor do I have a specific diet that I follow. I drink a lot of water. On occasion I enjoy apple or orange juice. And I love junk food. And pita bread. Now that may sound really bad. But in there I also eat real food (once in a while). I love to snack. It allows me to keep going. And keep moving without really taking a long break throughout my day. That works for me. But by GRABBING A SNACK it allows your motivation to increase. And gives your body a little kick. (Let’s go!) You should be able to focus more and zoom in on the task you have in front of you. Now I do not suggest ordering a large pizza, a few hot wings and a large coke. That will put you on your back for the rest of the day/night. I suggest yogurt, nuts, crackers or some type of fruit juice or possibly marshmallows (I love marshmallows as well). A snack is called a snack for a reason. So don’t go out and buy mountains of these and sit the entire container in front of you or guess what? Right. You will probably eat the entire thing. A snack is use to keep you going. You should be hungry after. And that is when you take that concentration and put it into your work. And start to focus again.

I like almonds as a snack – keeps your energy up but doesn’t fill you up- Ina Garten

List of snacks you may enjoy:

Almonds

Vegetable Crackers

5 Skittles

3 Fuzzy Peaches

Green Apple

Banana

Rice Cake

Yogurt

Scoop of peanut butter (Natural)

PB

PB

Success-Quote-20

DEADLINE

We all hate deadlines but in reality they are put in place to make us work harder. I use to go about my day, week, and month year without them. I would use them only when granted or requested. Now I write them down and use them for myself . a DEADLINE is put into place so you have an idea of how much time you have and what you need or want to get done in that period. To keep your self-motivated you need to put these ideas in place and ask yourself, “when should this be completed?” What do I want by this date.? Time. Etc. To maximize this trick, I create deadlines for each month. Or week. When you complete something you can do on to the other. If not, you are stuck in the same position. I always leave something I am really excited about for the next deadline, so I have motivation to keep forward on what is in front of me during that occasion. To reach the next task, You have to meet the first DEADLINE. So hold true to yourself and use the first DEADLINE as motivation for the next.

A goal is a dream with a deadline– Napoleon Hill

PARTNER

This does not mean go and get married. Or find a boyfriend. Or get a girlfriend. It basically means find someone who is just as motivated as you. Working towards a goal or something they really passionate about and connect with them. Let them know how things are going. Remind each other about your goals. FIND A PARTNER that is willing to give criticism and not allow you to fall through the cracks or work under low-level standards. You want to FIND A PARTNER that is willing to give it to your straight, but willing to comfort you when things are going wrong. These individuals are hard to come by. Sometime they are right under your nose. Sometimes you must use trail and error. Test others. See who is fitting. If you cannot find that individual. Simply ask a friend to remind you about deadlines or check up on you once in a while. Having a second set of eyes focused on your actions, or aware of you’re doing and motivation can be very beneficial to your success.

TRICK: a cunning or skillful act or scheme intended to deceive or outwit someone. The only person you want to trick and convince is yourself. Your body is your temple. It is something that goes through a variety of stages. Emotions and Feelings. We know are bodies better than anyone else. We feel and understand our thinking. Take the time to find out what works for you. But don’t stop working. Or seeing your vision because you are tired or you messed up. Because you’ve been disappointed about something. Use your own tricks to get back on top again, and keep trying until your success ladder is where you want it to be.

Use wisely…

BEAWESOME

Leave a Reply

