ImInKuwait: Week 26 (Life and Lebanon)

ImInKuwait: Week26

Welcome2Lebanon

Welcome2Lebanon

I can’t believe it’s been 182 days (roughly) since I left the little province of Nova Scotia, Canada to experience a journey of a lifetime. For starters, I want to apologize for not updating you like I promised about this experience. Since August 2012, I’ve visited Dubai, Berlin, Barcelona and Lebanon. I’ve taught 25 kids in a classroom in Kuwait. Learned a little bit of Arabic. Made some great friends. Dreamt about hummus, tabbouleh, kebbeh and shawarma. Drove in a taxi over 50 times. Smelled 200 different kinds of perfume (anyone in Kuwait would understand). Took over 4000 pictures. Went through over 10 cases of 12 x1.5 litre bottles of water. Skyped numerous friends. Watched over 6 AUS basketball games online. Fell in love with Zara. And the list goes on and on.

So what’s been up?

Everything has been going great here in Kuwait! Enjoying my new friends a lot. Spending lots of time with the Girls JV/Varsity basketball team at ASK (Coach JV/Assist Varsity). The girls are great and I am really happy to be apart of Falcon Athletics. School of course has been very busy. Report cards went out to the students and parents about a week ago. Student led conferences are coming up and we have to prepare for that as well (should be fun). I am really interested in seeing how this type of conferencing works. I am excited to see how the kids do. I think it will be great for the students and parents to reflect on their work together. I’ve been learning lots. Taking in as much as I can, and adjusting to the environment everyday.

I recently arrived back from Lebanon. We had a break in February, and I decided to visit a friend. Before anything, I would like to express how grateful I am to have such awesome friend in Mr. Toulany. He went way beyond expectations of a host. I was able to visit a variety of places with amazing scenery. Attend a professional basketball and volleyball game. Ate in multiple restaurants. Walked and explore a village. Investigated an amazing underground cave. Got to ride in a cable car. Was able to meet various family members and friends. And so much more. #Thankyou so much!

Lebanon is a beautiful place. It is definitely a placed I would like to visit again. I totally understand why they call it the “Paris of the Middle East”. The buildings. The cars. The people. The landscape is amazing. I personally cannot describe how much I love this place. I highly recommend a visit. The images below are a summary of my trip. Enjoy:

Driving

Driving

ChickenPasta

ChickenPasta

BestSalad(Crab)

BestSalad(Crab)

#VillageLook

#VillageLook

LookFar

LookFar

EverythingIsAGreatPicture

EverythingIsAGreatPicture

ILoveThisPlace!

ILoveThisPlace! (village)

Rosey

Rosey

VillageView

VillageView

SnowMountains

SnowMountains

#HappyBdayToMe

#HappyBdayToMe

TraditionalLebFood:-)

TraditionalLebFood:-)

Yumm!

Yumm!

MountainTop

MountainTop

#AWESOME

#AWESOME

:-)

🙂

LandscapeView

LandscapeView

Harissa

Harissa

TheSunset

TheSunset

SushiAnyone?

SushiAnyone?

OnTheHouse!

OnTheHouse!

JeittaGrotto

JeittaGrotto

ThisMakesMeSmile

ThisMakesMeSmile

TeamBejjeh #23!

TeamBejjeh #23!

VBall!

VBall!

Greatest Shawarma EVER!

Greatest Shawarma EVER!

What’s next?

I have another break at the end of March. I am still debating on what I want to do during that time. The options right now are back to Lebanon or Istanbul, Turkey. That decision will be made very shortly. But until next time. Stay safe. And stay Awesome. See pictures below of the trip!

-BeAwesome

Leave a Reply

