Put your BIG BOY pants on!

If you had the chance to read my last blog you probably know that I’ve been really busy. School is wrapping up, and ever day it feels like I have something else I have to  complete. A bit overwhelmed to say the lease. With that, I found myself thinking to often, and spending too much time on negative thoughts and energy. How can I do this? What if this doesn’t work? I spent a lot of time worrying about the what if? and how comes? These are all questions that make our bodies and minds think negatively or upset about something instantly. We carry these questions with us for days and until we find answers. Some of us carry these questions for months and years.

I started acting different. My response to simple conversation. Daily interactions with others. Emails. Phone calls. Everything. And you know what, it wasn’t me. I spent one day apologizing to everyone I thought I made upset. All because of one or two things I was unsure about. Then I thought, why am I making these individuals suffer because of my problems. Or my issues. What do I need to do to get out of this slump?

To do this, I normally tell myself “Put your Big Boy Pants on” and stop complaining. Take a look at the bigger picture, and realize that things aren’t so bad. For starters I look at my surroundings and block out anything that bothers me. Anything that is negatively affecting my goals or dreams. If you have a goal you need to protect it. Some people do not realize when they are stopping others from doing what they love. You need to harness that mindset and make changes that are going to affect your future in a good way.Block out the frustration by looking forward to the big picture. Life is about taking the necessary steps to reach your ultimate goals. Everything in between is called a “lesson” or “experience”. You should never allow a lesson or experience that is taking place, overcome and shadow your ultimate goals.

Take a look at the BIG PICTURE. Once you have this picture in your mind, you can always find ways to benefit from negative experiences you go through in life. That worry (or thought) that continuously plays in your head. The negative emotions and feelings you have about something or someone. Once, you “flip the script” and make it into a learning experience, your mindset and mood should change. Think about the advantages you have, privileges, opportunities and blessing. Is that moment of frustration worth more than all of that? I highly doubt it. We get lost in conflict, and disappear in what we call “life”. We start to see it and talk about it, but forget to live it.

“Next you need to pull up your big boy pants and tap into a mindset that allows you to block out the frustration”- Kobe

#KobeMeanMug

#KobeMeanMug

My thoughts came from Kobe Bryant on this years 2012-2013,Los Angeles Lakers, and Pau Gasol. Kobe speaks on Pau, “Put your big-boy pants on,” Kobe said with a trace of disgust in his voice. “C’mon … just adjust. You can’t whine about it or complain about it. Heck, I’m 34 years old, and I’m running screen-and-rolls out there because Steve is out, and my ass is running up and down the court more than I ever have in my entire career. But you have to adjust to it”. One thing I always find about great pro athletes are that they are able to overcome incredible odds and disfavour by simply adjusting the way they think. 

There comes a point and time in life were you simply have to stop all the complaining. Feeling sorry for yourself. Making excuses as to why things are the way they are. Making other individuals lives miserable because you think yours is as well. Take an oath, and start creating and environment that allows you to exceed beyond expectation. Stop thinking negatively about yourself. Stop allowing others to dictate what you do and how you do it. Put your big boy pants on and lead your future. Hey, if this does not interest you, others will gladly do it for you. That is all for now.

Continue to

-BeAwesome

Leave a Reply

