Change is good :-)

I always enjoyed change. Whether it was trying something new in a restaurant or reading a new book, I’ve always embraced the not so common in my life. Last year I decided to teach in a foreign country, meet new friends and travel the world. For me, change has always brought the best out of me, and given me ways to learn more about myself.

Yes, it was completely out of the ordinary to move and teach in Kuwait. But if you stay with the status quo and do things that have been already been done, how will you create a legacy for yourself. If you are content with being similar to the person next to you, by any means continue to stay normal. If you ever want to be extraordinary, do things people think you can’t do.

When I think about change, I think about why I am doing it, and what I can get from it. From there, I think about whether or not this change is going to be good for me in the long run. Some people create drastic changes right away without doing the research first, or really thinking about their decision, which is fine but very risky and leaves no room for error.

Opportunities to change help your critical thinking skills. It demands deep thoughts and a rough sketch of your ideas. The changes in my life have allowed me to grow as a person, learn from my mistakes and begin to make decision on my own. Here are 3 reasons why change is good:

One: Change is an adventure

Adventure

I can definitely be the person to tell you that change is an adventure. It takes you outside of your comfort zone and makes you figure out things on your own. With that said, you do receive some help along the way, but for the most part, the final say goes through you. The idea of this adventure is to explore and see what is out there, what can you use from this experience to create a better you.

Two: Change is learning

LearningBlocks

Some people run from change. A regular way of living is to just go with the flow, allow things to happen, and simply do what ever you are asked. That said, change creates learning experiences that you can only receive on your own. At the end of the day, you need to be able to adjust when things are thrown at you from different angles. You are not always going to have someone to help you. You are not always going to have the pitch right down the middle. Change allows you to work on these skills and start doing things truly because you believe in them.

Three: Change is Opportunity

Opp

When I think about opportunities, and the possibilities of doing exactly what I want to do in life, I become overjoyed and excited for the changes that are about to happen once I pursue them. Opportunities come and go, the tricky part is deciding which one or two (or even three) you want to pursue and go with. Change allows you to explore these options. It opens many doors, and closes many as well.

Conclusion

You can probably think of a variety of reasons why change is good. The more you grow and explore, challenge yourself to do new things, you will realize the learning and growth that happens when you decide to make changes in your life. Ask questions and take risk. Be careful and mindful of your thoughts, and embrace difference.

One thought on “Change is good :-)

  1. Pingback: EpicLiving™ | Why Be Good When You Can Be Great?

Leave a Reply

